If Today Could Be Everyday

Happy Labor Day!

Today is perfect!  The weather, the agenda, the company…

I am currently sitting on my deck, laptop poised for writing while my hubby, beside me, strums his guitar.  The dog is napping in the sun.  The kids are inside chillin’ after a half a day of family fun.  We lazied around, grilled Brats, played Spades…  I don’t think it gets much better than this!

I cannot express how badly I needed this “down-time.”  Or how badly I wish that this day was everyday.  I know it isn’t possible to be this laid back, but maybe a little less intense than it usually is.  Because of the ongoing stresses, I find myself wondering if our way of doing life is the right way.  Is the craziness, the busyness, the chaos, really the way God wants us to do things?  Did I hear him right when He was calling me to go back to work full-time so that James could be freed up to do more ministry?  Did He really say, work full-time and home school?  Really?  Is this how we are supposed to be doing life?  Sometimes it all seems so overwhelming.

Wouldn’t it be nice if there were some sort of Litmus test for knowing 100% that you are exactly where God wants you?  I don’t know how to tell if there are better ways to “do life”.  There are no aerograms, no neon signs, no post-it notes.    He hasn’t sent me an email, a text message, and He hasn’t facebooked me.  Sometimes I feel like we are in a mad labyrinth, circling back around to those places where we’ve already been.  I really want to be doing what God wants us to be doing, but how do I know if I’m doing it?

I don’t believe in prosperity doctrines.  I don’t believe that the way to knowing whether or not you are in His will is by how much you are being physically blessed and how comfortable your daily routine is.   But I honestly don’t know how to gauge the rightness of our life choices (the morally neutral ones).

The conclusion I have come to is that I am asking the wrong question.  Instead of asking, “God, are we doing this right?  Is this where you want us to be?”  What I should be asking is, “Lord, are you my everything?  Do I live as if my circumstances don’t matter, and you alone do?”  Because if I am walking with Him, delighting in Him, and living for His glory.  His Spirit will lead me in the way I should go.

This is why I have been studying His glory.  I want to change the questions.  Stop striving for right choices.  Stop trying to find some silver bullet that would put us on the path to blessing and favor, and start living for His glory, to have everything in and about me, point to Him alone.

(My compiled studies and notes – a work in progress – are posted under the Devotions tab of this blog)

One thought on “If Today Could Be Everyday

  1. Cheryl says:

    Joyce,
    You always did have a way of putting hard questions down on paper and then turning them into the right questions. These very thoughts have gone through my head often lately. One prayer I am changing is: “LORD, lead me on the right path.” to LORD, I want to keep my eyes fixed on You, so that I can walk on the water and not sink.” Fixing my eyes on Jesus is not always easy, as Peter found out, but when we do…..Oh the wonderful miracles we get to experience!

Leave a comment